top of page

UM

Nachdem Laura M. Kramer über ein Jahrzehnt lang in Südkalifornien Musik gemacht hatte, begann sie kürzlich, Dienste im Nordosten von Pennsylvania anzubieten. Ihre Musik fängt ein vielseitiges Spektrum an Elementen ein, von Rock bis Jazz, Kunst und Natur.  Ihr jüngstes Projekt ist Axon Aura Musik, wo sie Chill- und Wellness-Musik und Medien produziert.  Zu den Aufträgen gehören jene für das Panic Duo, das Duo Montagnard, David Holben (Tubist), das Holben Publishing Consortium, Liana Gourdjia (Geigerin) und Guido Sánchez (Gitarrist), Quintessential Winds und das Zzyzx Saxophone Quartet.  Ihr Werk „Sleuth“ wurde in der „Gem Series“ des ITEA Journal hervorgehoben und „The Miracle of the Walking Fish“ mit Texten von Jackson Bliss wurde mit einem BMI Student Composer Award ausgezeichnet. Ihre Werke wurden bei den ICMC 60x60 Concerts, dem Midwest Graduate Music Consortium, den SEAMUS National Conferences, dem World Saxophone Congress sowie vom USC Thornton Edge Ensemble aufgeführt. Laura hat auch mit verschiedenen Medien zusammengearbeitet, darunter moderner Tanz und Theater.   

Als Performerin ist Laura Gründungsmitglied des in Los Angeles ansässigen Noir Quartet und hat ihre Original-Saxophonwerke bei verschiedenen nationalen Konzerten aufgeführt, darunter beim CSU Fullerton New Music Festival, bei NASA Conferences, bei What’s Next? Ensemblekonzerte, Midwest Composers Symposium und Auftritt auf dem Album „Rhapsody in Brass“ von Presidio Brass. Darüber hinaus hat sie neue Saxophonwerke von Jordan Nelson, David Werfelmann und Natalie Williams in Auftrag gegeben.  

Laura unterrichtet derzeit an der California State Summer School for the Arts und verfügt über ein privates Studio mit einheimischen Studenten. Sie war außerdem als Dozentin für Musiktheorie und Komposition an der Thornton School of Music der University of Southern California tätig, unterrichtete beim Idyllwild Summer Music Camp und hielt Gastvorträge an der Mansfield University, der West Chester University und der Western Illinois University.  Laura schloss ihr DMA in Komposition an der University of Southern California (2015) mit den Schwerpunkten Theorie, Saxophon und elektroakustische Medien ab, wo sie als Lehrassistentin für Musiktheorie und Komposition tätig war und Empfängerin des Carolyn Alchin-Stiftungsstipendium für Musik und Dekanatsstipendium. Sie hat einen Master of Music in Komposition von der Indiana University (2008), wo sie als Assistentin des New Music Ensemble tätig war, und einen Bachelor of Music in Saxophon-Performance und Musiktheorie/Komposition von der West Chester University of PA (2006). Zu ihren Saxophonlehrern gehörten Anthony Kurdilla, Gregory Riley und James Rötter; Zu den Kompositionslehrern gehörten Claude Baker, Donald Crockett, Don Freund, Michael Gandolfi, Jeffrey Hass, Robert Maggio, Larry Nelson, Mark Rimple, Brian Shepard und Frank Ticheli.

Wenn sie keine Musik macht, ist sie auf einem Wanderweg unterwegs und verbringt Zeit mit ihrer Katze Sage. 

Saxophon haltend
bottom of page

ABOUT

PDF Downloads:

Full Bio

 

Originally from Minersville, PA, Laura M. Kramer (b. 1984) now resides in Southern California, where she is active as a composer, saxophonist, and educator.  Her music captures an eclectic range of elements, from rock to jazz, art, and nature.  Commissions include those for the Panic Duo, Duo Montagnard, David Holben (tubist), the Holben Publishing Consortium, Liana Gourdjia (violinist) and Guido Sánchez (guitarist), Quintessential Winds, and Zzyzx Saxophone Quartet.  Her work, "Sleuth", was highlighted in ITEA Journal’s “Gem Series”, and "The Miracle of the Walking Fish", with texts by Jackson Bliss, was awarded a BMI Student Composer Award.  Her works have been performed at the ICMC 60x60 Concerts, Midwest Graduate Music Consortium, SEAMUS National Conferences, World Saxophone Congress, as well as by the USC Thornton Edge Ensemble.  Laura has also collaborated with various mediums, including modern dance and theater.   

As a performer, Laura is a founding member of the Los Angeles based, Noir Quartet, has performed her original saxophone works at various national concerts, including the CSU Fullerton New Music Festival, NASA Conferences, What’s Next? Ensemble Concerts, Midwest Composers Symposium, and performed on Presidio Brass’s Rhapsody in Brass album.  In addition, she has commissioned new saxophone works by Jordan Nelson, David Werfelmann, and Natalie Williams.  

Laura is currently a Lecturer in Saxophone and Music Theory at California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo, CA, teaches composition at California State Summer School for the Arts, and has a private studio of local students.  She has also served as a lecturer in Music Theory and Composition at the University of Southern California Thornton School of Music, has taught at Idyllwild Summer Music Camp, and has also guest presented at Mansfield University, West Chester University, and Western Illinois University.  Laura completed her DMA in Composition at the University of Southern California (2015), with concentrations in theory, saxophone, and electroacoustic media, where she has served as a teaching assistant in music theory and composition, and is also a recipient of the Carolyn Alchin Endowed Music Scholarship and Dean’s Scholarship.  She holds a Master of Music in Composition from Indiana University (2008), where she served as graduate assistant of the New Music Ensemble, and a Bachelor of Music in Saxophone Performance and Music Theory/Composition from West Chester University of PA (2006).  Her saxophone teachers have included Anthony Kurdilla, Gregory Riley, and James Rötter; and composition teachers have included Claude Baker, Donald Crockett, Don Freund, Michael Gandolfi, Jeffrey Hass, Robert Maggio, Larry Nelson, Mark Rimple, Brian Shepard, and Frank Ticheli. 

Copyright © 2017-20 Laura M. Kramer